skip navigation

Mustangs win varsity boys Metro Track and Field Championship

By KErensa Uyeta-Buckley, Elk Grove Citizen, 05/08/19, 9:45AM PDT


With a score of 195 at the Metro League Championship on May 3, the Monterey Trail Mustang varsity boys team won the track and field meet (their JV boys team would also finish first), and added to their first-place finish at the first two Metro League meets, the Mustangs won the Metro League Championship.

In addition the team championship, the Mustangs won championship in 19 events, including varsity boys varsity girls and JV boys events.

The Lady Mustangs placed third at the meet with 105 points while the JV boys won with 174 points.

Qualifiers from the Metro League moved on to this week’s Sac-Joaquin Section Division II meet, which started May 7 at American River College. The SJS D II meet will conclude May 9 with events scheduled to start at 3 p.m.

According the Sac-Joaquin Section meet format page, the top six athletes from each event move on to the D II meet. The top six athletes in the D II finals move on to the SJS Masters meet.

For the varsity boys, Zach Larrier won the 200 meter run with his time of 21.35 seconds and won the 400 meter championship as well at 47.87 seconds. In the 4x100 relay, the Mustang team of Andre Crump, Prophet Brown, Camden Wheeler and Larrier won with its time of 42.03 seconds.

The 4x400 relay team of Brown, Wheeler, Bubba Echols and Larrier won with its time of 3:19.52. In the high jump, Kevin Adams won with his PR of 6’01.

Jared Van Der Zwaag won the pole vault championship with his vault of 13’0. Adams also won the triple jump at 44’08.

For the varsity girls, India Collins won the 100 meter hurdles at 15.64 seconds and later won the 300 meter hurdles in 45.05 seconds, which was her season record.

Aniyah Outland-Watson, Collins, Chioma Onejeme and Tiana Johnson won the 4x100 relay at 49.63 seconds. In the high jump, Collins won with her PR of 5’02.

Johnson won the long jump championship with her jump of 16’05.5

In the JV boys 800 meter run, Ricardo Torres won with a personal record of 2:14.04. The 4x100 team of Chris Lands, Lamont Dunn, Otha Williams and Mizay Davis won with its time of 44.27 seconds.

The 4x400 relay team of Diego Jimenez, Lands, Williams and Gabe Carter won the championship with its time of 3:40.32.

In the shot put, Jasdev Banwait won with his personal record of 42’0.

In discus, Reggie Parker won with his throw of 115’08. Nekhi Broadway won the high jump at 5’06 for the JV boys team.

Lamont Dunn won the JV boys long jump championship at 20’04.5 and was a dual champion after finishing the triple jump at 39’03.5.

The Laguna Creek Cardinals also represented the Elk Grove Unified School District at the league finals and came away with multiple individual league champions.

Daniel Ray won the 800 meter varsity boys championship with his time of 2:05.41, Kevin Haley won the 1600 meter JV boys championship in 4:55.99, and Kevin Quang won the 100 hurdles with a PR of 18.20 seconds.

Aubrey McKeand, Zoe Tillery, Aspyn Tanner and Kaitlyn Juarros won the 4x400 relay with their time of 4:11.80.

You can view the original article by clicking HERE